Naples, Italy – A ‘South-American’ city in Europe

In this post, I’ll share about things that you should never missed out in Naples!

Compared to Rome, to Milan, to Venice, to Florence, Naples might not be one of your top choices when you visit Italy. I mean, what is so special about Naples? There’s no Colosseum, no gondola (the typical Venice ‘boat’), the cathedrals are not as famous as others… plus, it’s said to be one of the most dangerous region in Italy because of the mafia.

However, it is a very unique city. It’s very lively, vibrant and energetic. The vibe is so different from the other parts of Italy. Some Italians even told me that “Naples is not Italy”. Some Argentinians told me that “Naples felt like a South American city, I feel very much like home”.

Although I have never been to South America (which I desperately want to), I do think that Naples is not a place to see, but a place to feel.

Saro con te, (I will be with you)

E tu non devi mollare, (and you must not give up)

Abbiamo un sogno nel cuore, (we have a dream in our heart)

Napoli torna campione! (Naples turns into champion!)

The Neapolitans are crazy about football. I remember that one time, when the team of Naples defeated their biggest enemy from Turin, the whole street was so freaking loud. People were cheering and honking on the street, firecrackers were lit up, it was truly amazing.

IMG_0590IMG_0437img_0442

Everything in Naples was cheaper than the rest of Italy (especially the Northern part). No kidding, you can get a giant pizza for 5 Euros, small bottle of beer for 1 Euro and big bottle of beer for 2 Euros, a small beer plus a shot for 2 Euros, a plate of pasta with seafood for 6 Euros, etc.

Talking about pizzas in Naples, yes yes, everybody loves L’Antica Pizzeria Da Michele (super long queue, featured in Eat, Pray, Love) but I missed the chance to have it. I went there the night when I was about to leave Naples but it closed the minute I got there. I turned around and headed to Pizzeria Trianon instead. It really wasn’t bad! The pizza makers were so friendly! They let me head over to the kitchen and they even took pictures for me. Hah! And that was the first time where I finished a Neapolitan sized pizza on my very own.

 

My most favorite pizzeria, however, is Starita, Via Materdei. I FREAKING LOVE THIS PLACE. Have you ever had FRIED PIZZA? It’s called Montanara and it is soooooooooooooo goooooood!!!!!!! They fry the dough before putting the ingredients on it! They have branches in Torino, Milano and New York. I had one in Torino but I still think that the one in Naples was the best!

IMG_0867

 

A brief history of pizza: the Margherita pizza (tomato sauce, basil and mozzarella cheese) was first made in Naples by Raffaele Esposito, honoring the Queen consort of Italy, Margherita of Savoy when she first visited Naples. The pizza was to represent the national colors on the Italian flag (red, green, and white).

Other than pizza, you can also find one of the best places for pasta with ragĆ¹ (an Italian minced meat pasta sauce) in Naples – Tandem. I had Manfredi con ragĆ¹ e ricotta (manfredi is a type of pasta) in Tandem and it was superb! Couldn’t finish it all though. It was hella filling!

P/s: the ragĆ¹ here is rather different from the one from Bologna (Bolognese sauce). And nope I can’t decide which was better, both are just decent!

img_1816.jpg

P/p/s: There are two Tandem places – one is for dine-in (which I would recommend you to get a reservation or else you might have to wait for a long time) and the other is for takeaway or a quick meal (with small tables and stools). I went for the take away tho.

I’m not a big fan of art and history (which is such a shame, especially when I was traveling around Italy) so I didn’t join any city tour to go around the city. However, I strongly recommend you to visit Naples National Archaeological Museum. I don’t care if you are into history or not but this is a museum that you will be regretting for missing it out. The entrance fee was only about 15 Euros but there were many collections! From the Romans to the Greeks to the Egyptians, you definitely don’t want to miss this out. Many artifacts from Pompeii had already been moved and exhibited here.

 

You can simply stroll around the city. Via Toledo is the main shopping street. Castel NuovoCastel dell’Ovo (free admission), Castel Sant’Elmo (where you can have a 360 degree paranomic view of Naples) are three of the main castles in Naples. Vomero and Chiaia are two beautiful neighborhoods that I love in Naples (my colleague teased me for loving fancy stuff, hah!). There are also … (trying to find the right word here – thrilling? amazing? creepy? fascinating?) catacombs in Naples that worth a visit!

IMG_1108
The view from Castel Sant’Elmo.

Can you see the Mount Vesuvius at the back?

It is the same volcano that destroyed Pompeii and Herculaneum back in the 79 A.D.. It is, frighteningly, still active. The last eruption was in 1944, killing 26 people. It is definitely going to erupt again, say the experts, but they don’t know when. Some says that the next time it erupts, it will be an forceful explosion. It is estimated that around 600,000 people live in the red zone. Given its potential, Vesuvius could endanger more than 3 million people and wipe out the city of Naples (read more: howstuffworks).

My colleagues and I were freaking out when we learned about the volcano while we were there. I asked my local friend, “aren’t you scared that it’ll erupt one day? Why don’t you move to another place?” He said, “well, it will erupt one day, that is for sure, but I love Naples.”

“What if it really erupted?”

“You’ll see me in the museum, like the bodies you see in Pompeii,” he joked.

Ugh, seriously, Alessandro?

I guess it’s the Roman spirit. Maybe, there is no point in fearing death. Live the now and cherish the day.

Carpe diem.


Leave a comment