Going for an Exchange is More Than Just Traveling

If you are thinking about going for an exchange, that’s great.

Exploring the country you have never traveled to, touring around the cities, taking amazing photos to show off on Instagram…

Going for an exchange, however, is much more than that.

#1 You push yourself out of your comfort zone.

When you go on an exchange, you are mostly on your own (at the beginning). Are you shy to talk to strangers? You might need to ask them for directions. Are you not sure about the etiquettes in the new place? Embarrass yourself for a couple of times and you will get it. Hope to join a society but you don’t know anyone? Just go!

When I was in the U.K., I was not sure how people shop for groceries. You know how in Malaysia we get a price tag for our fruits and vegetables at a weighing counter before we proceed to checkout?

In the U.K., you can weigh your loose goods at checkout. (And aye, I asked strangers at a grocery store to learn about this)

There’s a scale on each self-service counter. Just weigh your loose goods there and the price will be added to your bill.

#2 You stop stereotyping people.

Let’s get real. Racism occurs when one race does not understand the other.

“I am scared to go to America because of the black people.”

“Chineses eat starfish, right?”

“Europeans are unhygienic, they don’t shower everyday.”

When you get to know a little bit about a new culture, you might start to generalize them. “Italians make good pasta.” “Malaysians love nasi lemak.”

When you get to know more people of that culture, you will realize that every individual, although coming from the same culture, is different. Not all Italians can make good pasta. Not all Malaysians love nasi lemak.

Some stereotypes may be true to a certain degree though. For example, we often start our conversation with the weather. The weather is so shitty it’s noteworthy (4 seasons in 10 minutes – rain, sunny, windy, hail).

I was about to be blown away.

#3 You get to make friends from all around the world.

Honestly, as an extrovert, this is the best part of going on an exchange.

Making friends from all around the world broaden your horizons. You get to know people from all walks of life. (I keep a journal of the stories I’ve heard.)

I knew people who took their time off after high school and did not start their first degree until they were 24. I honestly don’t find mature students to be common in Malaysia. I’m graduating at 24 and people are already asking me what took me so long. (Well, STPM is one thing, and going for exchange is another – I have to extend for another year to complete my credits.)

Anyway, if you are going for an exchange, make some lasting memories with your new friends! Back in Glasgow, I had this special friend who would make me French cuisine and I would show her Malaysian cuisine. She loved it!

#4 Most importantly, you learn about yourself and your home country too.

It is hard to know what we are already familiar with until we head to an unfamiliar surrounding.

I didn’t realize that adding condensed milk to coffee is uncommon, until a Canadian told me she loved how we add condensed milk to our coffee.

Not to mention we mix tea and coffee together. #Cham is the best.

Supper is a big thing in Malaysia (wait, or maybe just Klang Valley). It was so hard to find food other than fish & chips after 10pm in the U.K.. My friends would just go home and make a toast or have some yogurt. Deep down I was screaming for maggie goreng telur sahaja.

I love Malaysia for our rich multiracial culture, but I also admire other developed countries for their social progress.

From my exchange journey I learned that students in Malaysia tend to not be aware of their privileges. Hence, inspired by student platforms in the U.K., my team and I have officially created Ugek for Malaysian students to have easy access to student prices. Do like & follow us! 😛

That’s all for now. If you wish to know more about the exchange program I participated, read on: https://thedancingwildfire.wordpress.com/2020/03/04/my-exchange-program-faq/


Leave a comment